Woodmen of the World Building

Register/Inventory: 
Local
Address: 
120 SE Court St
Lot: 
1, 2, 3
Block: 
5
Addition: 
Original Town of Pendleton
Plat: 
2N 32 11BB
Tax Lot: 
4500, 4501, 4600
Page: 
105
Date Constructed: 
1905
Original Use/Function: 
Eagles Lodge
Present Use: 
Commercial
Area of significance/study theme: 
Architectural Style
Architectural style: 
Italianate/Richardsonian Romanesque
Plan type/shape: 
Rectangular 72' x 100'
Structural Frame: 
Brick
Foundation material: 
Stone
Roof Form & Materials: 
Flat/Membrane roof
Wall Construction: 
Brick
Primary window type: 
One-Over-One, Double-Hung
Primary exterior surfacing materials: 
Brick
Outstanding decorative features: 
Stone cornice, windows grouped under
Number of stories: 
3
Basement: 
No
Condition in 1985: 
Fair
Exterior alterations/additions (dated): 
First story has seen major alterations of the facade
Statement of significance: 
The Eagles Lodge began construction of the building in 1905. Due to financial problems it was sold to the Woodmen of the World Lodge in 1909. Three seperate tax lots are included within the building two of which are owned by Woodmen of the World at this time. The architectural style of the building is unique in Pendleton. The segmental arch shape of the window openings shows the Italianate influence, however the overall configuration of grouped windows within vertical bands topped by an arch is distinctly Richardsonian. A 1911 photo shows the the three original storefronts were all different but similar in their use of multiple panes of glass - the brick entry is original, it stood alone with no solid wall around. The main entry door is also original, the corbeling between the first and second story is original and extends across the entire facade.